The Robinson Library

The Robinson Library >> English Literature >> 1900-1960
A. A. Milne

playwright, screenwriter, author of mystery novels and children's stories, collector of short stories

Alan Alexander Milne

Alan Alexander Milne was born in London on January 18, 1882, the third son of a schoolmaster. A gifted mathematician, at the age of 11 he won a scholarship to the Westminster School. He then went on to Trinity College, Cambridge University, from which he received his degree in mathematics in 1903.

Despite his mathematical gifts, Milne was determined to be a writer. In 1906, he became an assistant editor of the satirical magazine Punch, where he remained until 1914. Most of his early books were collections of stories originally published in Punch.

In 1913, Milne married Dorothy de Selincourt, and soon after moved to a house in London's Chelsea section. He spent about a year serving in France during World War I before developing trench fever and being sent home. His only son, Christopher Robin, was born in 1920.

In 1925, Milne wrote a Christmas story for the Evening News called "Winnie the Pooh," which was based on Christopher and his favorite teddy bear. The story proved so popular that, in 1926, he expanded the story into the book Winnie the Pooh; the sequel, The House at Pooh Corner, was released in 1928. Both Pooh books, as well as most of his Milne's other children's books, were illustrated by E.H. Shepard. The Pooh books now rank among the most popular of all children's books.

A stroke in 1952 left him an invalid, and he died on January 31, 1956.


Lovers in London (1905)
The Day's Play
The Holiday Round (1912)
Once a Week (1914)
Happy Days (1915)
Once on a Time (1917)
The Boy Comes Home
(children's play--1918)
Mr. Pim Passes By
(comic play--1919)
The Camberley Triangle (1919)
Not That It Matters (1919)
The Stepmother (1920)
The Romantic Age (1920)
If I May (1920)
The Bump (screenplay--1920)
Five Pounds Reward (screenplay--1920)
Bookworms (screenplay--1920)
The Sunny Side (1921)
The Great Broxopp: Four Chapters in Her Life (play--1921)
The Truth About Blayds (comic play--1921)
The Dover Road (comic play--1922)
The Red House Mystery
(detective novel--1922)
Berlud, Unlimited
The Man in the Bowler Hat
To Have the Honour (play--1924)
When We Were Very Young
(collection of children's poems--1924)
Ariadne; Or, Business First
A Gallery of Children (1925)
For the Luncheon Interval (1925)
King Hilary and the Beggarman (1926)
Portrait of a Gentleman in Slippers: A Fairy Tale
Now We Are Six (collection of children's poems--1927)
The Ivory Door: A Legend (1927)
Miss Marlow at Play (1927)
The House at Pooh Corner (1928)
The Ascent of Man (1928)
Gentleman Unknown (1928)
Michael and Mary (1929)
By Way of Introduction (1929)
Toad of Toad Hall (play adaptation of The Wind in the Willows--1929)
The Christopher Robin Story Book (1929)
The Secret and Other Stories (1929)
Those Were the Days (1929)
Birds of Prey (screenplay--1930)
Two People (1931)
Four Day's Wonder (mystery novel--1933)
Other People's Lives (1933)
Peace with Honour: An Enquiry into War Convention (1934)
Miss Elisabeth Bennet (play adaptation of Pride and Prejudice--1936)
Sarah Simple (1937)
It's Too Late Now (autobiography--1939)
War With Honour (1940)
War Aims Unlimited (1941)
The Ugly Duckling (1941)
One Year's Time (1942)
Chloe Marr (1946)
Going Abroad? (1947)
The Norman Church (1948)
Books for Children (1948)
Birthday Party and Other Stories (1948)
A Table Near the Band (collection of short stories--1950)
Before the Flood (1951)
Year In, Year Out (1952)

See Also

World War I

Questions or comments about this page?

The Robinson Library >> English Literature >> 1900-1960

This page was last updated on 01/18/2019.