The Robinson Library

The Robinson Library >> Hawaii
Hawaii Becomes the 50th State

President Dwight D. Eisenhower signed the Hawaii Statehood Bill on March 18, 1959. Hawaii was proclaimed the 50th state by President Eisenhower on August 21. William F. Quinn was sworn in as the first Governor on the same day. Senators Hiram Fong and Oren Long and Representative Daniel K. Inouye were sworn in by Congress on August 24.

Whoops resounded when the U.S. Senate passed the Hawaii Statehood Bill, on March 11.
Hawaii statehood celebration

Merrymakers at Waikiki Beach were undeterred by rain after Hawaii's statehood bill was passed by the U.S. House of Representatives, on March 12. Newspapers had run off special statehood issues.
Waikiki celebration

As returns poured in during the June 27 statehood referendum and primary elections, Republican Party workers in Honolulu celebrated the early lead of James Kealoha, eventual winner of the Lieutenant Governor post.
June 1959 elections in Hawaii

President Eisenhower unfurled the new 50-star flag on August 21. It was to become official on July 4, 1960.
new 50-star flag

Minutes after Hawaii was proclaimed a state, William F. Quinn was sworn in as Governor by State Supreme Court Justice Masaji Marumoto.
William F. Quinn

Hiram Long (left) drew the full six-year term and Oren Long (right) drew the four-year term after the two were elected Hawaii's first U.S. Senators in August.
Hiram Fong and Oren Long

See Also

In the Year 1959
President Dwight D. Eisenhower

Questions or comments about this page?

The Robinson Library >> Hawaii

This page was last updated on December 10, 2018.