The Robinson Library

The Robinson Library >> Astronautics >> History

The Mercury 7

On April 9, 1959, the National Aeronautics and Space Administration introduced seven military test pilots as the first U.S. "space pilots."

Those seven men were:
Navy Lieutenant Malcolm Scott Carpenter
Air Force Captain Leroy Gordon Cooper, Jr.
Marine Lieutenant Colonel John Herschel Glenn, Jr.
Air Force Captain Virgil Ivan Grissom
Navy Lieutenant Commander Walter Marty Schirra, Jr.
Navy Lieutenant Commander Alan Bartlett Shepard, Jr.
Air Force Captain Donald Kent Slayton

the Mercury 7

See Also

Malcolm Scott Carpenter
John Herschel Glenn, Jr.
Virgil Ivan Grissom
Alan Bartlett Shepard, Jr.

Questions or comments about this page?

The Robinson Library >> Astronautics >> History

This page was last updated on 08/14/2018.