The Robinson Library

The Robinson Library >> Italy
Vatican City State

aka The Holy See; the smallest independent state in the world

Local Official Name Stato Della Cittą Del Vaticano

Location entirely surrounded by Rome
Total Area 108.7 acres

map of Vatican City

Population (2015 est) 1000
Ethnic Groups Italian, Swiss
Religions Roman Catholic
Languages Italian, Latin, French

Capital Vatican City
Form of Government ecclesiastical
Chief of State Pope Francis (since March 2013)
Head of Government Secretary of State Cardinal Pietro Parolin (since October 15, 2013)
Cabinet Pontifical Commission for the State of Vatican City appointed by the Pope
Legislature unicameral Pontifical Commission for Vatican City State
Judiciary there are three tribunals responsible for civil and criminal matters within Vatican City; three other tribunals rule on issues pertaining to the Holy See

Currency Euro
printing; production of coins, medals, postage stamps; mosaics and staff uniforms; worldwide banking and financial activities

Independence from Italy Achieved February 11, 1929
Flag two vertical bands of yellow (hoist side) and white with the arms of the Holy See, consisting of the crossed keys of Saint Peter surmounted by the three-tiered papal tiara, centered in the white band; the yellow color represents the pope's spiritual power, the white his worldly power

flag of the Vaican City

Questions or comments about this page?

The Robinson Library >> Italy

This page was last updated on 08/11/2018.