The Robinson Library

The Robinson Library >> Nauru
Republic of Nauru

the world's smallest independent republic

Location south of the Marshall Islands

location of Nauru

Total Area 8 sq mi (21 sq km)
Highest Point unnamed; 200 ft (61 m)
Lowest Point sea level
Natural Resources phosphates

map of Nauru

Nationality Nauruan
Population (July 2016)
Ethnic Groups Nauruan, other Pacific islanders
Religions Protestant, Roman Catholic
Languages Nauruan

Form of Government parliamentary republic
Present Constitution Adopted January 31, 1968
Chief of State and Head of Government President Baron Waqa (since June 11, 2013)
Legislature unicameral Parliament
Judiciary Supreme Court
Local Administration 14 districts

Currency Australian Dollar (AUD)
Per Capita Income
phosphate mining, offshore banking, coconut products
Agricultural Products
Export Commodities phosphates
Import Commodities food, fuel, manufactures, building materials, machinery

Independence from Australia-, New Zealand-, and United Kingdom-administered UN Trusteeship January 31, 1968
National Holiday
Independence Day; January 31
Flag Blue with a narrow, horizontal, yellow stripe across the center and a large white 12-pointed star below the stripe on the hoist side. Blue stands for the Pacific Ocean, the star indicates the country's location in relation to the Equator (the yellow stripe), and the 12 points symbolize the 12 original tribes of Nauru.

Questions or comments about this page?

The Robinson Library >> Nauru

This page was last updated on 02/10/2019.