The Robinson Library

The Robinson Library >> Australia
Commonwealth of Australia

Location a continent bordered by the Indian and South Pacific oceans

Area 2,967,909 sq mi (7,686,848 sq km)
Greatest Distance E-W (mainland) 2,400 mi (3,862 km)
Greatest Distance N-S (mainland) 2,000 mi (3,219 km)
Coastline 12,210 mi (19,650 km)
Highest Point Mount Kosciuszko, 7,310 ft (2,228 m)
Lowest Point Lake Eyre, -52 ft (-16 m)
Natural Resources bauxite, coal, iron ore, copper, tin, gold, silver, uranium, nickel, tungsten, minerals sands, lead, zinc, diamonds, natural gas, petroleum

map of Australia

Nationality Australian
Population (July 2016 est)
Largest Cities Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Perth, Adelaide
Ethnic Groups white, Asian, aboriginal
Religions Catholic, Anglican, other Christian, Buddhist, Muslim
Languages English, Chinese, Italian

Capital Canberra
Form of Government federal parliamentary democracy
Present Constitution Adopted January 1, 1901
Chief of State
Queen Elizabeth II (since February 6, 1952)
Head of Government Prime Minister Scott Morrison (since August 24, 2018)
Cabinet nominated by Prime Minister from among members of Parliament
Legislature bicameral Federal Parliament
High Court
Administrative Divisions
6 states and 2 territories

Currency Australian Dollar
Per Capita Income
Industries mining, industrial and transportation equipment, food processing, chemicals, steel
Agricultural Products wheat, barley, sugarcane, fruits; cattle, sheep, poultry
Export Commodities coal, iron ore, gold, meat, wool, alumina, wheat, machinery, transport equipment
Import Commodities machinery, transport equipment, computers and office machines, telecommunication equipment and parts, crude oil and petroleum products

Independence from Great Britain Achieved January 1, 1901
National Holiday Australia Day; January 26 (1788)
Flag blue with the flag of the United Kingdom in the upper hoist-side quadrant; a large seven-pointed star in the lower hoist-side quadrant represents the federation of the colonies of Australia in 1901 (one point for each of the six original states and one representing all of Australia's internal and external territories); on the fly half is a representation of the Southern Cross constellation in white

flag of Australia

See Also

Queen Elizabeth II

Questions or comments about this page?

The Robinson Library >> Australia

This page was last updated on January 01, 2019.