The Robinson Library
The Robinson Library >> Malaysia
Federation of Malaysia

Location Southeastern Asia
Bordered By Thailand,
Indonesia, Brunei

Malaysia on a map of Eastern Asia

Area 127,316 sq mi (329,749 sq km)
Highest Point Gunung Kinabalu; 13,455 ft (4,101 m)
Lowest Point sea level along the coasts
Natural Resources tin, petroleum, timber, copper, iron ore, natural gas, bauxite

map of Malaysia

Nationality Malaysian
Population (July 2014 est)
Largest Cities
Kuala Lumpur
Ethnic Groups Malay, Chinese, indigenous, Indian
Religions Muslim, Buddhist, Christian, Hindu, Confucianism, Taosim
Languages Bahasa Malaysia (official), English, Chinese, Tamil, Telugu, Malayalam, Panjabi, Thai

Capital Kuala Lumpur
Present Constitution Adopted
August 31, 1957
Form of Government
constitutional monarchy
Chief of State Yang di-Pertuan Agong (King) Sultan Muhammad V of Kelantan (since December 13, 2016)
Head of Government
Perdana Menteri (Prime Minister) Mahathir Mohamad (since May 10, 2018)
Cabinet appointed by the Prime Minister
bicameral Parliament (Parlimen)
Federal Court, Court of Appeal, High Court of Malaya on Peninsula Malaysia, High Court of Sabah and Sarawak in States of Borneo
Local Administration
13 states (negeri) and one federal territory (wilayah persekutuan)

Currency Ringgit
Per Capita Income
Industries rubber and oil palm processing and manufacturing, light manufacturing, electronics, tin mining and smelting, logging, timber processing, petroleum production and refining, agriculture processing
Agricultural Products rubber, palm oil, cocoa, rice, timber, coconuts, pepper
Export Commodities electronic equipment, petroleum and liquefied natural gas, wood and wood products, palm oil, rubber, textiles, chemicals
Import Commodities electronics, machinery, petroleum products, plastics, vehicles, iron and steel products, chemicals

Independence from Great Britain Achieved August 31, 1957
National Holiday Independence Day/Malaysia Day; August 31
Flag 14 equal horizontal stripes of red alternating with white; a blue rectangle in the upper-hoist corner bears a yellow crescent and a yellow 14-pointed star;
the stripes stand for the equal status in the federation of the 13 member states and the federal government; the 14 points on the star represent the unity between these entities; the crescent is a traditional symbol of Islam; blue symbolizes the unity of the Malay people; yellow is the royal color of Malay rulers

flag of Malaysia


Questions or comments about this page?

The Robinson Library >> Malaysia

This page was last updated on 07/17/2018.