The Robinson Library
The Robinson Library >> Malawi
Republic of Malawi

Dziko la Malawi

map of Malawi

Location south central Africa
Bordered By
Tanzania, Mozambique, Zambia

Burundi on the map

Area 45,747 sq mi (118,484 sq km)
Highest Point Mount Sapitwa; 9,843 ft (3,002 m)
Lowest Point
junction of the Shire River and international boundary with Mozambique; 121 ft (37 m)
Natural Resources limestone, arable land, hydropower, unexploited deposits of uranium, coal, and bauxite

Nationality Malawian
Population (July 2016 est)
Largest City Lilongwe
Ethnic Groups Chewa, Lomwe, Yao, Ngoni, Tumbuka, Nyanja, Sena, Tonga, Ngonde
Religions Christian, Muslim
Languages English (official), Chichewa, tribal languages

Capital Lilongwe
Form of Government republic
Present Constitution Adopted May 16, 1994
Chief of State and Head of Government
President Arthur Peter Mutharika (since May 31, 2014)
Cabinet appointed by the President
Legislature unicameral National Assembly
Supreme Court of Appeal
Administrative Divisions
28 districts

Currency kwacha (MWK)
Per Capita Income
Industries tobacco, tea, sugar, sawmill products, cement, consumer goods
Agricultural Products tobacco, sugarcane, cotton, tea, corn, potatoes, cassava (manioc, tapioca), sorghum, pulses, groundnuts, Macadamia nuts; cattle, goats
Export Commodities tobacco, tea, sugar, cotton, coffee, peanuts, wood products, apparel
Import Commodities food, petroleum products, semi-manufactures, consumer goods, transportation equipment

Independence from the United Kingdom Achieved July 6, 1964
National Holiday Independence Day;July 6
Flag black represents the native peoples, red the blood shed in their struggle for freedom, and green the color of nature; the rising sun represents the hope of freedom for the continent of Africa

flag of Malawi


Questions or comments about this page?

The Robinson Library >> Malawi

This page was last updated on 07/05/2018.