The Robinson Library

The Robinson Library >> Central African Republic
Central African Republic

Republique Centraficaine

Bordered By Chad, Sudan, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Congo, Cameroon

Area 240,535 sq mi. (622,984 sq km)
Highest Point Mont Ngaoui, 4,659 ft (1,420 m)
Lowest Point Ubangi River, 1,099 ft (335 m)
Mineral Resources diamonds, uranium, timber, gold, oil

Nationality Central African
Population (2016 est)
Largest City Bangui
Ethnic Groups Baya, Banda, Mandjia, Sara, Mboum, M'Baka, Yakoma
Languages French (official), Sangho, tribal languages
Religions indigenous, Protestant, Roman Catholic, Muslim

Capital Bangui
Form of Government republic
Present Constitution Adopted
December 2015
Chief of State
President Faustin-Archange Touadera (since March 30, 2016)
Head of Government
Prime Minister Simplice Sarandji (since April 2, 2016)
Council of Ministers appointed by the President
unicameral National Assembly
Supreme Court, Constitutional Court
Local Administration
14 prefectures

Unit of Currency Cooperation Financiere en Afrique Centrale francs (XAF)
Per Capita Income
Principal Industries
gold and diamond mining, logging, brewing, sugar refining
Agricultural Products
cotton, coffee, tobacco, cassava (manioc, tapioca), yams, millet, corn, bananas; timber
Principal Exports
diamonds, timber, cotton, coffee
Principal Imports
food, textiles, petroleum products, machinery, electrical equipment, motor vehicles, chemicals, pharmaceuticals

Independence from France Achieved August 13, 1960
National Holiday
Republic Day, December 1 (1958)
red symbolizes the blood spilled in the struggle for independence, blue represents the sky and freedom, white peace and dignity, green hope and faith, and yellow tolerance; the star represents aspiration towards a vibrant future

See Also

Democratic Republic of the Congo
Republic of the Congo

Questions or comments about this page?

The Robinson Library >> Central African Republic

This page was last updated on September 07, 2018.