The Robinson Library

The Robinson Library >> Basketball >> History
1960 News and Highlights

Ohio State won the NCAA Basketball Championship and the Boston Celtics won the NBA Championship.


Conference Champions

Eastern (Ivy League) Princeton 11-3
Yankee Connecticut 8-2
Middle Atlantic St. Joseph's 7-1
Atlantic Coast Wake Forest 12-2
Southeastern Auburn 12-2
Mid-American Ohio 10-2
Midwest Knox 13-5
Ohio Valley Western Kentucky 10-2
Southern Virginia Tech 12-1
Western (Big Ten) Ohio State 13-1
Mountain States Utah 13-1
Border New Mexico State 8-2
Rocky Mountain Idaho State 8-0
Big Eight (tied) Kansas
Kansas State
Missouri Valley Cincinnati 13-1
Southwest Texas at Austin 11-3
Pacific Coast (Big Five) California at Berkeley 11-1
West Coast (tied) Santa Clara

Ohio State won the NCAA Basketball Championship by sinking a record 68.4% of its shots in the final game on its way to defeating the California Bears 75 to 55 at San Francisco, California, on March 19. In handing California its first loss after 19 straight victories, Ohio State compiled the highest winning margin in NCAA title play. Sophomore Jerry Lucas scored 16 points to lead Ohio State and was voted the outstanding player in the tournament.

Evansville defended its small college championship title by defeating Chapman 90 to 69 at Evansville.

Southwest Texas defeated Westminster 66 to 44 to take the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics title at Kansas City, Missouri, on March 12.

Bradley University came from behind to defeat Providence 88 to 72 for the National Invitation title at New York City's Madison Square Garden on March 19.

Oscar Robertson of Cincinnati was universally acknowledged as the best collegiate player of the season. He led all scorers with a record average of 33.7 points per game and a total of 1,011 points.


The Boston Celtics, coached by Arnold "Red" Auerbach, won their second straight National Basketball Association play-off championship by edging the St. Louis Hawks 4 games to 3. The Celtics won the final game with a score of 122 to 103, at Boston, Massachusetts, on April 9.

In the annual All-Star Game, the East defeated the West 125 to 115 at Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, on January 22.

The Most Valuable Player in 1960 was Wilt Chamberlain of the Philadelphia Warriors. In his first year of professional play the former University of Kansas star established records for rebounds, points scored (2,707), and average points per game (37.6). He became the first player in NBA history to be named both Rookie of the Year and Most Valuable Player in the same year. Other leading per-game scorers were Jack Twyman of the Cincinnati Royals (31.2), Elgin Baylor of the Minneapolis Lakers (29.6), Bob Pettit of St. Louis (26.1), and Cliff Hagan, also of St. Louis (24.8).

Wilt Chamberlain in a play-off game
Wilt Chamberlain in a play-off game

See Also

Madison Square Garden
Wilt Chamberlain

Questions or comments about this page?

The Robinson Library >> Basketball >> History

This page was last updated on September 13, 2018.