The Robinson Library
The Robinson Library >> Recreation >> Automobile Travel and Racing
1967 Auto Racing Highlights

Formula 1

Denis Hulme, a 32-year-old New Zealander who had never won a Formula I Grand Prix race prior to 1967, won the 1967 Formula 1 Driver Championship. Driving a Brabham- Repco, Hulme only won two of the 11 races in 1967, but placed second in three and 3rd in four others to amass a total of 51 points. His boss, defending champion Jack Brabham of Australia, came in second in the driver championship with 48 points. Third place was won by Jim Clark of Scotland, the 1963 and 1965 champion, with 41 points. Driving a Lotus-Ford, Clark won four races, but failed to finish four others.

Clark's victory in the Grand Prix of Mexico, the final race of the year, tied him with Juan Fangio of Argentina for the most career Formula 1 Grand Prix victories, a total of 24.

Race Winning Driver Winning Car
South African GP Pedro Rodriguez Cooper-Maserati
GP of Monaco Denis Hulme Brabham-Repco
Dutch GP Jim Clark Lotus-Ford
GP of Belgium Dan Gurney Eagle-Weslake
Le Mans Jack Brabham Brabham-Repco
British GP Jim Clark Lotus-Ford
West German GP Denis Hulme Brabham-Repco
GP of Canada Jack Brabham Brabham-Repco
GP of Italy John Surtees Honda
GP of United States Jim Clark Lotus-Ford
GP of Mexico Jim Clark Lotus-Ford

Canadian-American Sports Car Series

Denis Hulme and fellow New Zealander Bruce McLaren, both driving McLaren-Chevrolets, dominated the 1967 season. Hulme won the first three races, McLaren the fourth and fifth. Between them, they won more than $190,000 in prize money.

United States Auto Club (USAC)

The sensation of the Indianapolis 500 (May 30-31) was a turbine-powered car developed by Andy Granatelli and driven by Parnelli Jones. Compared to piston-driven engines, the car was virtually silent as it sped around the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Jones led 197 of the race's 200 laps, but the car's gearbox failed with less than 10 miles to go and Jones ended up finishing fifth. A. J. Foyt ended up collecting his third Indianapolis 500 win. Driving a self-designed Ford-Coyote, Foyt set a new average speed record of 151.207 miles per hour. The race itself had to be red-flagged after the 18th lap due to rain, and was restarted the following day.

Andy Granatelli runs beside his turbine-powered car as Parnelli Jones pulls away from a pit stop.
Parnelli Jones in his turbine-powered car

Foyt waged a year-long battle with Mario Andretti for the USAC Driver Championship. Foyt finally won the title in the last race of the season, at Riverside, California.

Le Mans

A. J. Foyt teamed with Dan Gurney to score a victory in his first ever year of endurance racing, the24-hour race at Le Mans, France. The pair won the race driving a Mark IV Ford, making them the first Americans driving an American-made car to win the classic race. Despite this victory, Ford lost the manufacturer's endurance racing championship to Ferrari.


Richard Petty, driving a Plymouth, won a record 27 races in 1967 to win his second straight NASCAR Driver Championship. He also set new NASCAR records for the most races won in a career (75) and for the most money won in one year ($130,275).

Questions or comments about this page?

The Robinson Library >> Recreation >> Automobile Travel and Racing

This page was last updated on February 19, 2018.