The Robinson Library

The Robinson Library >> In The Year... >> 1978
Awards and Honors

The American Institute of Architects presented its Gold Medal to Philip Johnson.

J. M. Gutiérrez Souza received Spain's Blasco Ibáñez Prize for his first novel, Así me dijo Arturo, about the supernatural and the commonplace.

Dolly Parton was named the Country Music Association's 1978 Entertainer of the Year.

The 1978 Fields Medals, awarded at the quadrennial meeting of the International Congress of Mathematics in Helsinki, Finland, in August, went to Pierre Deligne of the Institut des Hautes Études Scientifiques, Charles Fefferman of Princeton University, G. A. Margulis of the Soviet Union, and Daniel Quillen of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Jean-Claude Renard won the Guillaume Apollinaire prize for La Lumière du silence.

Nobel Prizes
Chemistry--Peter Mitchell
Economy--Herbert A. Simon
Herbert A. Simon
Literature--Isaac Bashevis Singer
Peace--Egyptian President Anwar as-Sadat and Israeli Prime Minister Menachem Begin
Physics--Pyotr Kapitsa (half), Armo A. Penzias and Robert W. Wilson (shared half)
left: Pyotr Kapitsa; right: Robert W. Wilson and Arno A. Penzias
Pyotr Kapitsa Robert W. Wilson and Arno A. Penzias
Physiology or Medicine--Werner Arber, Daniel Nathans, and Hamilton O. Smith
left: Werner Arber; right: Daniel Nathans and Hamilton O. Smith
Werner Arber Daniel Nathans and Hamilton Smith

The Soviet Union's biennial Lenin Prize went to Aleksandr Chakovsky for his novel Blockade and to Belorussian poet Maksim Tank for his poem Narochanskye Pines.

Elaine Barbour, an elementary school teacher from Colorado, was named Teacher of the Year by Encyclopædia Britannica, the Council of Chief State School Officers, and the Ladies' Home Journal.
Elaine Barbour gets a congratulatory kiss from President Jimmy Carter in a White House Ceremony.
Elaine Barbour

See Also

Nobel Prizes
Anwar as-Sadat
President Jimmy Carter

Questions or comments about this page?

The Robinson Library >> In The Year... >> 1978

This page was last updated on January 24, 2019.