Knowledge unlocks a world of possibilities The Robinson Library

Home About The Library Navigation Help Sitemap Terms of Use Contact Information

  In The Year...1959

Awards and Honors

Jennie BarronRight: Jennie Loitma Barron, Judge of the Massachusetts Superior Court and mother of three daughters, is kissed by her husband after being named American Mother of 1959 on May 5, in New York, New York.

Anisfield-Wolf Awards "to the books that deal most creditably with the problems of race relations" were presented to Martin Luther King, Jr., for Stride Toward Freedom and J. Milton Yinger for Racial and Cultural Minorities.

Althea GibsonLeft: Ted Smits of the Associated Press presents Althea Gibson with the Babe Didrkson Zaharias Trophy, recognizing her as the 1958 Woman Athlete of the Year. She was being so honored for the second straight year.

U.S. President Dwight Eisenhower received the B'nai B'rith President's Medal on September 23 for his "positive efforts for peace on freedom's terms -- peace with justice and dignity."

The Egleston Medal for 1959, given by Columbia University for distinguished engineering achievement, was awarded to Robert A.W. Carleton, a New York construction engineer.

The Atomic Energy Commission's Enrico Fermi Award of $50,000 and a gold medal was given to Dr. Glenn Theodore Seaborg, University of California chancellor, on December 2. On the same day, AEC Chairman John A. McCone announced the establishment of an annual $25,000 award to honor younger atomic scientists, as a memorial to the late Ernest O. Lawrence.

Former U.S. President Harry Truman received the Four Freedoms Award of the United Italian American Labor Council on December 5.

Alonzo StaggRight: Long-time college football coach Amos Alonzo Stagg received a U.S. Chamber of Commerce "Great Living American" award.

The Gutenberg Award of the Chicago Bible Society, for distinguished service to the Bible cause, went to Dr. Luther A. Weigle, chairman of the revision committee, Revised Standard Version Bible.

President Dwight Eisenhower opened the American Heart Association's annual fund campaign by presenting the group's Heart-of-the-Year award to Senate Democratic Leader Lyndon B. Johnson, a fellow heart patient.

The University of Notre Dame awarded its Laetare Medal, given annually to an outstanding U.S. Roman Catholic, to Deputy Undersecretary of State Robert D. Murphy.

The U.S.S.R.'s annual Lenin Prizes were awarded on April 21 to composer Aram Khatchaturian and the team of nuclear scientists headed by Professor Vladimir Veksler, director of the Soviet bloc's Joint Institute for Nuclear Research in Dubna.

Miss Mississippi, Lynda Lee Mead, was crowned Miss America 1960 in Atlantic City, New Jersey, on September 12.

Nancy StreetsLeft: Nancy Streets, a sophomore from South Bend, Indiana, became the first black to be crowned Miss Indiana University in June. The pageant is a precursor to the Miss Indiana Pageant, which itself is a precursor to the Miss America Pageant.

Akiko KojimaMiss Universe contestantsFar Right: Akiko Kojima of Tokyo, Japan, won the 1959 Miss Universe title in Long Beach, California, on July 24.
Right: Beauty queens from 30 countries competed for the Miss Universe title.

Bernard Malamud received a $1,000 National Book Award on March 3 for his short story collection The Magic Barrel. Other winners were J. Christopher Herold for Mistress to an Age, a biography of Madame de Staël, and Theodore Roethke for his poems Words for the Wind.

Charles A. Robinson, C. Douglas, Buck., Jr., and Saul L. Cohen, the three co-chairmen of the Delaware Region, National Conference of Christians and Jews, were named winners of the 1959 National Human Relations Award.

Elizabeth Ames was the recipient of the National Institute of Arts and Letters' Award.

Edna DonleyLeft: Named National Teacher of the Year by a national women's magazine, Edna Donley of Alva, Oklahoma, who teaches mathematics, is received by President Dwight Eisenhower.

Nobel Prize winnersRight: On October 15, Nobel Prizes were awarded to (from left): Jaroslav Heyrovský, Chemistry; Emilio Segrč and Owen Chamberlain, Physics; Salvatore Quasimdo, Literature; and Dr. Severo Ochoa and Dr. Arthur Kornberg, Medicine. The Nobel Prize for Peace was awarded to Philip John Noel-Baker on November 5.

Dr. Wallace R. Brode was named December 20 as recipient of the American Chemical Society's Priestley Medal (1960) for "distinguished services to chemistry." The Society's Chicago section awarded its Willar Gibbs Medal to Dr. Hermann I. Schlesinger of the University of Chicago.

Religious Heritage of America Awards were presented to former Congressman Brooks Hays (Churchman of the Year), Mrs. W. O. Wedel (Churchwoman of the Year), and Rabbi M. Eisendrath (Clergyman of the Year).

The Roger Adams Award for organic chemistry research went to Professor Derek H. R. Barton of the Imperial College in London, England.

Allen W. DullesLeft: Allen W. Dulles (right), director of the Central Intelligence Agency, receives the Salvation Army Association's 1959 Citation of Merit from William Collins (left), SAA president, with Comm. Holland French, Eastern Territory, looking on.

Alice CoganRight: Alice Cogan was chosen Secretary of the Year at the 14th convention of secretaries.

Dwight Eisenhower
Harry Truman
Lyndon B. Johnson
Nobel Prize
Emilio Segrč

Questions or comments about this page?

  The Robinson Library > In The Year... > 1959

This page was last updated on May 17, 2016.

About This Site | Navigation Help | Sitemap | Terms of Use | Contact