Knowledge unlocks a world of possibilities The Robinson Library

Home About The Library Navigation Help Sitemap Terms of Use Contact Information

  In The Year...1947

Awards and Honors in 1947

Links will open in a new window.

The Freedom Award for the outstanding contribution to world peace was given to U.S. Secretary of State George C. Marshall by the Freedom House.

The One World Committee selected Fiorello LaGuardia as the winner of the One World Award, presented to individuals making outstanding contributions toward furthering the concept of One World. After his death on September 20, his widow, 1946 Nobel Peace Prize winner Emily Greene Balch, and Iris Gabriel, founder of the American Silent Guest Committee, were selected for the global tour.

The 1947 John Phillips Memorial Medal for Achievement in Internal Medicine was presented to Dr. Fuller Albright.

Alice Hamilton was named as one of the Lasker Award winners in 1947 for her life-long crusade to protect United States workers against industrial poisoning hazards; she was the first woman to win a Lasker Award.

Nobel Prizes for 1947 were awarded to: Sir Robert Robinson, Chemistry; Edward V. Appleton, Physics; Carl F. Cori, Gerty T. Cori, and Bernardo A. Houssay, Medicine; Andre Gide, Literature; ; American Friends Service Committee and Friends Service Council, Peace.
The 11th annual Caldecott Medal for the most distinguished picture book was conferred upon Leonard Weisgard for his illustrations of The Little Island, by Gideon MacDonald.

The 26th Newbery Medal for outstanding contribution to children's literature was presented to Carolyn Sherwin Bailey for Miss Hickory.

The Collier Trophy for 1947 was awarded on December 17 to Lewis A. Rodert, chief of flight research at the Cleveland Laboratory of the National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics "for his pioneering research and guidance in the development and practical application of a thermal ice prevention system for aircraft.

The 1947 Daniel Guggenheim Medal for the advancement of aeronautics was given to Lester Durand Gardner, founder of the Institute of Aeronautical Sciences in New York.

The Frank G. Brewer Trophy was awarded to Dr. Nickolaus L. Engelhardt, Jr., Director of the Air Age Education Foundation, for his contribution to the advancement of aviation education and training for youth.

Winston Churchill On May 10, Premier Paul Ramadier of France decorated Sir Winston Churchill with France's highest military honor, the Médaille Militaire, citing him as "one of the artisans of France's liberation."

Questions or comments about this page?

  The Robinson Library > In The Year... > 1947

This page was last updated on July 12, 2016.

About This Site | Navigation Help | Sitemap | Terms of Use | Contact