The Robinson Library
The Robinson Library >> American History >> Caribbean Islands >> Dominica
Commonwealth of Dominica

Location about halfway between Puerto Rico and Trinidad and Tobago

location of Dominica

map of Dominica

Area 290 sq mi (751 sq km)
92 mi (148 km)
Highest Point Morne Diablotins; 4,747 ft (1,447 m)
Lowest Point
sea level
Natural Resources timber, hydropower, arable land

Nationality Dominican
Population (2016 est)
Largest Cities
Ethnic Groups black, mixed
Languages English (official), French Patois
Roman Catholic, Evangelical, Seventh Day Adventist, Pentecostal, Baptist, Methodist, Church of God, Rastafarian, Jehovah's Witness

Capital Roseau
Form of Government parliamentary republic
Present Constitution Adopted
November 3, 1978
Chief of State
Charles A. Savarin (since October 2, 2013)
Head of Government
Prime Minister
Roosevelt Skerrit (since January 8, 2004)
Cabinet appointed by the President on the advice of the Prime Minister
unicameral House of Assembly
Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court
Local Administration
10 parishes

Unit of Currency East Caribbean Dollar (XCD)
Per Capita Income
Principal Industries
soap, coconut oil, tourism, copra, furniture, cement blocks, shoes
Agricultural Products
bananas, citrus, mangos, root crops, coconuts, cocoa
Principal Exports
bananas, soap, bay oil, vegetables, grapefruit, oranges
Principal Imports
manufactured goods, machinery and equipment, food, chemicals

Independence Achieved November 3, 1978, from Great Britain
National Holiday Independence Day, November 3
Origin of Name
the island was named by Christopher Columbus for the day of the week on which he spotted it, Sunday ("Domingo" in Latin), November 3, 1493
green with a centered cross of three equal bands; superimposed in the center of the cross is a red disk bearing a Sisserou parrot, unique to Dominica, encircled by 10 green, five-pointed stars edged in yellow, representing the 10 administrative parishes; green symbolizes the island's lush vegetation; the triple-colored cross represents the Christian Trinity; the yellow color denotes sunshine, the main agricultural products (citrus and bananas), and the native Carib Indians; black is for the rich soil and the African heritage of most citizens; white signifies rivers, waterfalls, and the purity of aspirations; the red disc stands for social justice

flag of Dominica

Puerto Rico
Trinidad and Tobago
Christopher Columbus

Questions or comments about this page?

The Robinson Library >> American History >> Caribbean Islands >> Dominica

This page was last updated on 12/25/2017.