The Robinson Library

The Robinson Library >> Richard Nixon's Administration, 1969-1974

Richard Milhous Nixon

When Richard Nixon was elected President in 1968, he climaxed one of the most extraordinary political comebacks in U.S. history. In 1960, while serving as Vice-President under President Dwight D. Eisenhower, he ran for the presidency and lost to John F. Kennedy. In 1962, he lost his bid to become Governor of California, his home state. After this loss, one television network presented a program called "The Political Obituary of Richard Nixon." But, in 1968, Nixon showed that he was politically very much alive. He won several primary elections, and again became the Republican candidate for President. This time, he defeated Vice-President Hubert H. Humphrey, his Democratic opponent, and former Alabama Governor George C. Wallace, the candidate of the American Independent Party.

Chronology of His Life and Career

  1913, January 9 Born in Yorba Linda, California.
  1934 Graduated from Whittier College.
  1937 Graduated from the Duke University School of Law.
  1939 Became the youngest member of the Whittier College Board of Trustees.
  1940, June 21 Married Thelma Catharine Ryan.
  1942-1946 Served in the U.S. Navy.
  1946 Elected to the U.S. House of Representatives.
  1950 Elected to the U.S. Senate.
  1952 Elected Vice-President of the United States.
Nixon visits Africa 1957 Visited Africa.
visit to South America 1958, May Visited South America.
Visit to England, 1958 1958, November Made a ceremonial visit to England.
visit to Russia 1959 Visited the U.S.S.R.
  1960 Defeated for President by John F. Kennedy.
defeated for Governor 1962 Defeated for Governor of California by Edmund G. Brown.
Richard Nixon's Administration 1968 Elected President of the United States.
President Nixon publicly resigns from office 1974, August 9 Resigned as President.
Christopher Nixon Cox 1979, March 14 Christopher Nixon Cox, his first grandchild, was born.
  1994, April 22 Died in New York City.


Six Crises (1962)
R.N.: The Memoirs of Richard Nixon (1978)
The Real War (1980)
Leaders (1982)
Real Peace (1983)
No More Vietnams (1985)
1999: Victory without War (1988)
In the Arena, a Memoir of Victory Defeat and Renewal (1990)
Seize the Moment (1992)
Beyond Peace (1994)


The American President

See Also

President Dwight D. Eisenhower
John F. Kennedy
George C. Wallace
Hubert H. Humphrey
American Independent Party

Questions or comments about this page?

The Robinson Library >> Richard Nixon's Administration, 1969-1974

This page was last updated on September 06, 2018.